The Northern Territory Grants Commission is established as an independent statutory authority under the Local Government Grants Commission Act. Its primary role is to allocate financial assistance grants provided by the Australian Government to Northern Territory local governing bodies in the form of general purpose grants and local roads grants.

It is a requirement under the Commonwealth’s Local Government (Financial Assistance) Act 1995 that there is a local government grants commission in each State and the Northern Territory to make recommendations on the allocation of funding to local governments made under the Act.


The Commission makes recommendations to the Federal Minister in respect of the amounts of money to be allocated to local governing bodies from the money provided to the Territory by the Commonwealth under the Local Government (Financial Assistance) Act 1995.

The Commission also makes recommendations on such other matters relating to the finances of local governing bodies as the Northern Territory Minister for Local Government, from time to time, refers to the Commission.